Opening Words

There are many queer women with blogs. I just happen to be the only one who has this blog.

Being a woman, I will use this blog to write about my experiences as a woman. Being queer, I will use this blog to write about my experiences as a woman who is attracted to people other than men. In accordance with who I am I will write about my desire for women’s liberation (I’m a feminist) and queer liberation. I will also detail my love of women’s culture and queer culture, writing everything from analysis to praise of movies I enjoy.

Though my primary purpose is to write about being a queer woman, I cannot be reduced to a single adjective and a single noun. So I will also describe what it’s like to be transsexual, disabled, and working class. Some people have tried to convince me that talk of this sort is a distraction from women’s issue, but I’ve noticed that society expects women to step aside and let the men talk about issues related to trans status, disability, and class. For this reason I see speaking out on these matters to be not only part of the struggles for transsexual, disabled, and working class equality but also an act of feminist resistance.

This is the place where I will share my thoughts, unrestrained. Welcome.

Leave a Reply

