New Policy on Potential Triggers

Lately I have been thinking about the value of trigger warnings. Writing about the use of the phrase trigger warning to indicate that content triggers others, Katherine of The Body Electric writes, “It rests on a massive set of assumptions about what might trigger survivors.” As someone who often finds it empowering to watch depictions of violence that would trigger others but can be triggered by seemingly innocent phrases, I could not agree more. Katherine also points out that trigger warnings have been used to “infringe upon the rights of others”, referencing a post in which Lisa Harney notes that trigger warnings have been used to justify barring trans women from women’s spaces. Taking all this into consideration, it is obvious that there is a problem with the way I have been handling triggers so far.

With that in mind I have decided to draft a new policy on potential triggers, based so much on Katherine’s that I am rejoicing in the fact that copyright law only protects content and not ideas:

  1. I will write the first paragraph of each post in such a way that the reader can easily determine the content of the rest of the post.

  2. I will construct hyperlinks in such a way that the reader can easily determine the content of the resource I have linked to.

  3. I will follow the internet convention of letting the reader know that material is NSFW or contains depictions of violence.

  4. I will tag or categorize all satirical content as such.

  5. I will not hold commenters responsible for content that is potentially triggering. However, I will hold commenters responsible for abusing or insulting me or other commenters.

  6. I will leave it to the reader to determine whether content is potentially triggering before they proceed.

  7. As I strive to make this an accountable space, I will welcome comments that let me and commenters know when we have said something insensitive.

Edited on the 29th to fix a typo.

3 Responses to New Policy on Potential Triggers

  1. Kirsten says:

    That’s very understanding of you to think of your readers like that. Thank you Veronika.

    Err…That being said….I know you were posting about a very serious subject, but the title says New Policy on Potential Tiggers. Does Winnie the Pooh know about this?

    • If he does, let’s hope word hasn’t gotten around to Tigger. Who knows what lengths he would go to in order to insure that he remains “the only one”?

      Thank you for the correction. ^_^

  2. Lika says:

    The only kind of sense that using triggers as an excuse to bar trans women from women’s spaces makes is the prescriptive paternalistic one, and that’s fucked up.

    This post and the the others that you linked gave me A LOT to think about regarding triggers and trigger warnings. Thanks for writing this.

Leave a Reply

