Solidarity

Last updated on 2011 Mar. 28.

Support the people's revolution

“Pernicious talk that Arabs do not want democracy has been exposed as the big lie it is.”—Jaswant Singh, writing for Al Jazeera English

News Stories about Women:

11/03/26: Libyan Woman Struggles to Tell Media of Her Rape
11/03/02: Arab Feminism
11/02/19: Women of the Revolution

Other Related Links:

The Libyan Youth Movement
Rare public protest quashed in Syria
Region in Turmoil (Al Jazeera Overview)
Rolling Rebellions (Democracy Now! Feed)

If you know of relevant links, please share them in a comment, and I will edit this post to add them.

4 Responses to Solidarity

  1. Lika says:

    Thanks for that links! I’ve heard awesome things about Al Jazeera and the link about the Libyan Youth Movement is fantastic. I get most of my information from CBC (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation), which isn’t link-worthy, but I’ll let you know if I come across anything.

    All the revolutions happening in the Arab world is inspiring the hell out of me, especially since I was taught by media and so on that the West was about freedom and the Arab nations weren’t. What a lie that has turned out to be, and they were able to find their voice on their own. I’m sending every single hopeful, encouraging vibe towards them in hope for some real change.

    • Veronika says:

      I get most of my news from Al Jazeera and the BBC. I figure that their interests are different enough that if the one refuses to cover a story the other will. Also, each has the benefit of being unfettered by US corporations.

      BTW you may have seen this already on Al Jazeera, but I thought I would mention that I have linked to an article about some of the women in the Egyptian revolution.

      • Lika says:

        I love that article on Egyptian women. I hope women continue to play a huge role in the re-building of the country.

        Here’s another link for your consideration: Democracy Now. An excellent blog that I recently found called 1TMB links to it quite a bit and I’ve been finding it very helpful. And check out 1TMB while you’re at it.

      • Veronika says:

        I don’t have a lot of time at the moment, but I like what I see so far. Thank you! I will have to look into 1TMB more later.

Leave a Reply

